Drunken Meringue Cookies

So, today being St. Patty’s and all I wanted to add a little color to my dinner party. As much as I love the ever faithful green beer, I thought to myself, “let’s try to class things up a bit”. I figured that my aunt and uncle would appreciate my efforts.

I wanted dessert to be light and fun, especially after a Chicken Pot Pie, and Broccoli Cheese Bites so I made Green Apple Crisp and Drunken Meringue Cookies. They are the classic vanilla flavor but with a touch of Creme de Menthe, and I mean, barely a smidge. A little goes a very long way.  I love the classic taste and texture and it gives the illusion that you had a lot of dessert because they are fairly rich, without being heavy.

Image

So, you will need…

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/8 tsp of salt
  • 1/8 tsp of Cream of Tartar
  • 1/2 C. fine white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Creme de Menthe

Here was my process…

I set the oven to 225 degrees and lined a baking sheet with foil.

Next I used my hand blender to beat egg whites, salt and cream of tartar until soft peaks formed. Then I slowly added sugar and beat until stiff peaks formed. It is important to not under-beat the mixture!!!

I added the Creme de Menthe at the end then beat mixture for another 2 minutes. I then spooned the mixture into my pastry bag and squeezed most of the air out. I then piped out regular “cookie” sized dollops onto the cookie sheet spacing them about an inch apart. If done right, the cookies should retain their shape until done baking.

Last I baked them for 1 hour and 15 minutes. They should easily peel away from the foil.

Don’t forget bakers, to get a good meringue, beat the hell out of those eggs!

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

