Broccoli Cheddar Bites

I was struggling to find a light, delicious appetizer for my dinner of Vegetable Root Chicken Pot Pie, and again being St. Patty’s, I was playing around in the green family. I had Puff Pastry, Broccoli, and green onions.Then it hit me, Gourmet Broccoli Cheddar Bites?! Yes!

They had everything I was seeking;  light and flaky, flavorful and green! I knew I was onto something so I started working away to create my take on the all American finger food.

Image

So, what you will need…

  • 1/4 C. broccoli finely chopped
  • 1/8 C. finely chopped green onion
  • 1/8 C. minced shallot
  • 1/8 C. finely chopped sweet onion
  • 2 minced cloves of garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 C. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • puff pastry (enough for 12  1 1/4×1 1/4 inch squares)

Here was my process…

First I set the Oven to 350 degrees. Then I greased a muffin pan with olive oil and set aside.

I took my puff pastry, rolled it out so it was about 1/4 inch thick and then cute my 1 1/4x 1 1/4 inch squares and placed each square in a muffin hole in the pan.

I sauteed the broccoli, green onion, shallot, sweet onion and garlic in 1 Tbsp Olive oil until onions were translucent. I added salt and pepper until I was satisfied with the flavor and then poured the mixture into a bowl with the shreded cheese. I mixed all ingredients together.

Next I spooned mixture into center of puff pastry in muffin pans.

I baked at 350 degrees for about 10-12 minutes, or until puff pastry was puffed and golden.

They were delicious and kind of fun to make!

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

