Rosemary-Thyme and Blueberry Bagels

Bagels. Bagels are something that I have thought about baking for a long time, but then I always started reading a recipe and it just seemed like too much of a commitment.There are soooooo many different recipes and sooooo many different time frames, it just got confusing and honestly a little annoying. So I shut myself down before I could even try. I knew it was a slippery slope to boxed cake and frozen cookie dough.

Today I wanted fresh bagels. I wanted them in my kitchen, warm and ready to eat.

I am proud to say that my fear of the 2 day bagel commitment is over, just in time for me to trial and error then master my very own 4 hour recipe 😉

This process does take quite a bit of time, but it is nothing compared to some 2 day recipes. The perk of the smell filling up your home is reason enough to attempt this recipe. There should really be a fresh-baked bagel scented candle!

So, you will need…

  • 2 tsp of active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp white sugar
  • 1 1/4 C.  warm water (add more water if needed)
  • 3 1/2 C.  bread flour (will need extra for kneading)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 C. finely chopped FRESH Rosemary and Thyme mixture
  • 1/4 C. whole FRESH Blueberries
  • Coarse Salt to sprinkle over Bagels before baking

Plus whatever toppings you choose, for the Rosemary-Thyme bagels I finely chopped the fresh herbs and mixed them in half of the dough, then sprinkled the rest on top after boiling. For the blueberry I mixed into the other half of the dough.I find that using fresh ingredients, the taste is way better and the less my food is processed the better!

Here was my process…

First I took 1/2 a  cup of the warm water and poured it into a small mixing bowl. Then I added  in the sugar and yeast. Do not stir. I let it sit for 5 minutes,  then I stirred the yeast and sugar mixture until it all dissolved.

In a large bowl, I  mixed the flour and salt. I made a well in the middle of the flour and poured in the yeast and sugar mixture. Then I added half of the remaining warm water into the well. I stirred the ingredients together adding the remaining water as I needed to, and more if necessary. You want the dough to be moist and firm after you have mixed it.

On a floured countertop, I kneaded the dough for exactly 10 minutes until it was smooth and elastic. (Try to work as much flour in as possible while kneading to form a firm and stiff dough).

I  lightly brush a large bowl with olive oil and turned the dough into the bowl making sure to coat the dough with the oil. Then I Covered the bowl with a damp towel and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour, The dough should in size. I punched down the dough, and let it rest for another 10 minutes.

Next I divided the dough in half and added my Rosemary-Thyme to one half and my Blueberries to the other. IT IS EASIER TO JUST MIX THE BERRIES/ROSEMARY AND THYME IN WITH  HE REMAINING WARM WATER, so you can divide the dough before you mix it, or just choose one kind. 🙂

After shaping the dough rounds and placing them on the cookie sheet, I covered them with a damp kitchen towel and allowed them to rest for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, I preheated my oven to 425 degrees.

For the next step I brought a large pot of water to a boil and immediately reduced the heat. I used a skimmer to lower the bagels into the water. I put 4 in at a time and turned after 2 minutes and boiled for another 2 minutes. This makes for a chewy delicious bagel. If you prefer a less chewy bagel, boil for 1 minute on each side. Then remove from water and place on slightly oiled baking paper on baking sheet.

Once out of the water I sprinkled the Rosemary-Thyme bagels with coarse salt.

I baked them for 20-22 minutes, until golden brown.

I couldn’t wait to let them cool so I broke into one of each. Success!

The flavors were bright and fresh and I will definitely be making these again! This is a long process but well worth it, especially if you love yourself some New York Style bagels. It isn’t that hard once you get the ball rolling. SO…

Happy Baking!

4 thoughts on “Rosemary-Thyme and Blueberry Bagels

  1. Wow! I’ve ever made bagels before and these looks like seriously big, fluffy dense ones! I love the time and rosemary ones, they look seriously amazing. I just did a bit of crazy baking over the last couple of days but I’m inspired by these bagels and (another friends) pretzels! I’m a carboholic!!!

Leave a Reply

