Salted Triple Chocolate Cookies

These cookies are the reason I go to the gym 6 days a week and torture myself! They are absolutely amazing. The flavors are layered and exciting and the salt finish adds an element of surprise that the common chocolate chip cookie lacks. I wanted to make the chocolate chip cookie my own, so I threw in white chips, semi-sweet chips and dark 60% cocoa chips and a teaspoon and a half of coarse sea salt. It might have been a pure moment of baking insanity, but it worked better than I could have hoped. I originally made these cookies with milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and they weren’t as good. I don’t really care for milk chocolate, so my solution was to omit it! I also prefer to use a higher quality of chocolate, just like my eggs, flour, sugar etc., So I prefer to work with Ghirardelli Chocolate chips for this kind of thing.

If you only make one more cookie in your life, let it be this one. I don’t mean to grease my own baking sheet, but this is a brilliant cookie!

So, you will need…

  • 1 1/4 C. All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Coarse Sea Salt
  • 1/2 C. Unsalted Butter at room temperature, NOT MELTED
  • 1/2 C. Packed Dark Brown Sugar
  • 6 Tbsp White Sugar
  • 1 large Egg
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 C. White Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 C. Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 C. Dark Chocolate Chips 60% cocoa (Ghirardelli chips for all three)

Here was my process…

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and place the rack in the middle of the oven. Next  line 2 baking sheets with baking paper (parchment).

In a bowl, SIFT together flour and baking soda.

In a large bowl combine brown sugar, butter and white sugar. Beat until smooth. (I often opt to mix by hand, but feel free to use a mixer). Add the egg and vanilla and beat until well blended.

Slowly incorporate the dry ingredients until everything is nice and mixed in. Then add all chocolate chips and salt. Mix until you feel they are well stirred in!

Spoon the dough on the prepared baking sheets and make sure there is 2 inches between each cookie. I fit about 8 on each baking sheet.  Bake the cookies for 10-13 minutes, 1 sheet at a time,  until the bottoms and edges have a lovely light golden brown color to them.

That is that. Easy, life altering cookies. YOU ARE WELCOME!!!!! 😉

Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Salted Triple Chocolate Cookies

  1. ha, i do juice in the mornings and sometimes lunch as well to try to counteract my sweet addiction. gym + yoga, too >.< damn those cookies for looking so yummeh! i will have to try those, but not till i bake banana bread!

Leave a Reply

