Apple Butter Oatmeal Cookies

I love to eat, and as I have previously mentioned in this blog, I am also a “Juicer”, which means one or two of my meals each day are juiced! I am like every other woman in the world who just isn’t satisfied with her weight! Anyway, today I am experimenting with a new way to make Oatmeal cookies.  Most of the recipes I have come across in my time call for lots of sugar and lots of butter and that seems like it would cancel the “healthy” right out of them. On the other hand it kills me to look for an alternative to butter because butter is glorious and possibly the best ingredient since Kobe beef, I mean… am I right or am I right?!

I tried to used yogurt and banana instead of butter… and they weren’t “bad” but the cookies seemed more like a muffin than a cookie. I decided that cutting out butter, at least for me and my baking style, isn’t going to give me the results I require for excellent baking! So, I figured that cutting back on the butter and the sugar was good enough for this recipe!

Luckily these are one of my favorite cookies, and they aren’t that bad for you to begin with. So… let us see!

 

So, you will need…

*makes 40 smaller cookies or 18 large cookies

  • 2 1/2 C. Oats
  • 1 C. All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbs Butter, softened and unsalted
  • 2 Tbs Canola Oil
  • 1 C. Light Brown Sugar, packed
  • 1 Egg White
  • 1/3 C. Apple Butter, homemade of course
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
  • 3/4 C. Raisins and Chocolate Chips (Combined)

Here was my process…

  1. Preheat oven to 350 Degrees F and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl combine oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.
  3. In a larger bowl mix butter and canola oil until combines and creamy. Then add brown sugar, mix until everything is well mixed and looking fluffy (using a beautiful wooden spoon of course!)
  4. Add egg white, apple butter, vanilla and raisin+chocolate chips. Mix well.
  5. Combine the dry mixture with the wet mixture, mix until all ingredients are well mixed in.
  6. Use your hands to for cookies. Slightly moisten them with water so that the dough doesn’t stick. Form little 1/4 inch balls for a smaller cookie, or a 1 1/2 inch ball for larger ones. Then flatten each cookie with your damp fingers to get a more elegant look to your fabulous cookies.
  7. Space cookies about 1 to 2 inches apart.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees for 15- 18 minutes.

And I will say, these are pretty good! You barley notice the lack of white sugar and excess of butter. Give it a try my little bakers and let me know what you think!

Happy Baking!

2 thoughts on “Apple Butter Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I made these but had to change it slightly. My kids (4&1) hate raisins an I only had white chocolate chips. They turned out well. Slightly dry. My kids ate two and asked for more! Kid tested, this mother approves! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

