Blackberry Brie Muffins

This was a fun little adventure in my kitchen. It is starting to get warmer and more springlike around these parts, and I just wanted to celebrate spring while still being prepared for the cold, through a muffin! I actually started out just using blackberries, but the strawberries were so juicy and beautiful, I had to show them some culinary love as well! So I did half blackberry brie, and half strawberry brie muffins. They were both great, although I was a bigger fan of the blackberry ones just because they are my favorite berry!

They came out moist and smelling incredible. even my picky eating friend who said, “What is brie? I won’t be messing with those.”, he liked them both! So that is a sign of success in my kitchen, and so these muffins get an A+!

So, you will need…

*yields 12 muffins

  • 1 3/4 C. All-Purpose flour
  • 1/2 C. Granulated Sugar
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Egg, beaten
  • 3/4 C. Milk
  • 1/4 C. Canola Oil
  • 1/2 C. Fresh Blackberries, or Fresh Strawberries cut into pieces
  • 1/2 C. Brie cut into pieces – they can be as big or as small as you want. I cut off the rind, but that is also up to you

Here was my process…

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 Degrees F and prepare the muffin pan with liners or grease.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk egg until fluffy, about 1 minute.
  4. Add milk and oil to egg, whisk for another 30 seconds or so.
  5. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture, and add the wet mixture. Mix until everything is combined.
  6. Add blackberries or strawberries and brie to mixture, mix well.
  7. Spoon into prepared muffin pans, bake at 400 degrees F for 18-20 minutes until muffin tops are a slight golden blonde.

 

I think these are best when they are warm, I even put some fat free frozen yogurt on mine! But they are great at any temperature and they can be enjoyed at anytime!

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

