Decadent Chocolate Cake

Decadent Chocolate Cake anyone? How about with some ridiculously rich and creamy Chocolate Fudge Frosting?!

Yeah… THAT is what I thought!

First of all, I am constantly trying to master the moist chocolate cake. It seems so simple, and we all know it is delicious. But how do we do it? How do we create this Great White Buffalo of cakes? I am here to save you all from dry, yet sometimes tasty, chocolate cakes. I have found a combination of ingredients that finally, after years, has given me what I want…. and need! 😉

Topped with my Chocolate Fudge Frosting, this cake is to die for. I honestly meant to share it with my friend Jessica, and with the people I clean for…. but honestly…. I felt like that guy in the Hobbit who finds that ring…. (clearly not my realm). I was Bilbo and the cake was the Ring. Let it be known, I do like to share…. but every so often a gem is born in this old kitchen of mine, and I get all Queen of the Castle-ish. I can’t help it, blame my mother.

20140114_184902_resized

So, here is what you will need…

Chocolate Cake

  • 2 C. All Purpose Flour
  • 2 C. Granulated Sugar
  • 3/4 C. + 2 Tbsp. Dark Cocoa, it is so important to use good quality cocoa for this recipe
  • 2 tsp. baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 C. Milk, I like using Whole Milk for this one
  • 1/2 C. Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Tbsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 C. Boiling Water

Chocolate Fudge Frosting

  • 1 1/3 C. Heavy Cream
  • 1 1/2 C. Sugar
  • 1 stick butter (4 oz) + 2 Tbsp
  • 6 oz. German Bakers chocolate, again good quality
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • a pinch or two of Salt

Here was my process…

Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and prepare a 9×13″ pan, or two 9″ round pans by greasing and dusting with flour.
  2. In the bowl of your stand up mixer combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix on low for about 30 seconds just until combined.
  3. Add milk, vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla. Mix on medium speed until batter is smooth.
  4. Once batter is smooth, reduce mixing speed to low and slowly, and might I add very carefully, pour boiling water into batter.
  5. Beat on high-speed for about a minute. The batter will be very thin, but be patient and let it do its magic!
  6. Pour cake batter into prepared baking pan(s).
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  8. Let cool completely before frosting.

Frosting

  1. In a medium saucepan bring the cream and sugar to a boil over medium heat.
  2. Reduce heat to low to bring the mixture to a steady simmer for 6 minutes. Stir occasionally.
  3. In a separate bowl break the chocolate into pieces and add the butter, vanilla and salt.
  4. In a large bowl prepare an ice bath to place the medium bowl into.
  5. Pour cream mixture over chocolate mixture, let stand until butter and chocolate have melted, again stirring occasionally.
  6. Place chocolate mixture bowl into ice bath. ( Still in the bowl of course!!!!) Using a hand-held electric mixture beat the frosting until it becomes thick, glossy and smooth. This should take about 4 – 5 minutes.
  7. Use immediately.

This cake is a real mind blower… and I can’t encourage you enough to make this for any occasion…. literally, any occasion. That means PMS, Monday, a Doctors appointment, a birthday, Tuesday…. you name it. Talk about versatile.

20140114_184846_resized

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Decadent Chocolate Cake

Leave a comment